- You would like to learn how to set up and modify groups.
- To define groups, you will need to be an organization administrator.
- Each group can now have a unique logo by adding an image link to the group.
- Begin by selecting the Organization menu and then choosing Organization Options to expand the sub-menu.
- Select Groups from the menu tree.
- On this screen, you can click the “Add Group” button to create a new user group. Enter a name for the new group. The URL for a group logo is optional, enter that if applicable.
- For example, if you want to include a logo from a particular business unit, you can go to the website for that unit and pull the URL for the image. Once you find the logo on the website, right-click the logo and select “Copy image link” (The selection may vary based on your browser).
- You can paste this link in the “Logo Url” field in the Groups menu. The logo will appear in the portal for anyone assigned to that Group. Click the “Save” button to save your changes.
- You can modify a group name or logo at any time, just update the text and click “Save” to capture your changes. You can delete any existing group at any time by clicking the “Delete” button for that row. This will remove the group name from all users it is currently assigned to. Click “Save” to capture your changes
Note: New groups must be created from the Organization Options menu and can no longer be created on the fly from the user screen.
Group Security Permissions
- New security role options have been added for the Reporting, User Admin, Content Creator, and Learning Path Administrator roles to restrict access to the user groups the admin has been added to.
- This new functionality essentially allows for group administrators. These options are found on the edit user screen.
- To access that screen, you must be an organization administrator.
- Begin by selecting the Organization menu, and then selecting the User menu option.
- From the user list, select the user you would like to work with by clicking on the user’s name.
- The Edit User screen is displayed. Look to the area with security roles, just beneath the profile details.
- If you check the box for Reporting, a new box appears beneath it to allow you to Restrict to User Groups. Check this box to ensure that the user can only view reporting data on other users in the same group.
- The same option is available for the User Admin, Content Creator, and Learning Path Administrator roles. By checking Restrict to User Groups for any of these roles, access will be limited to items owned by the same group the user is in.
- This ensures that each group can have unique custom courses, assessments, goals, and roles that can only be modified by the appropriate content creators and learning path administrators. To achieve this, a new tab for Group definition has been added to the screens for each of
those entities. For example, if you want to restrict a custom course to a specific Group, select the Organization menu and then select See All Courses
- Select the course you want to add Groups to.
- Select the Groups menu.
- Select the Group or Groups you want to restrict the custom course to. Click Add Group and then Save Groups.
- Once you have saved the Group, the menu will appear like this.
- You can also remove Groups from custom courses, assessments, goals, and roles at any time. All you have to do is click Delete next to the desired Group, click Yes in the pop-up confirmation window, and then select Save Groups.
- The Group restriction will be removed from the course, assessment, goal, or role.